Comparison of subscription, managed and self-hosted productivity software cost and responsibility models
Image: Work Stack Lab

Foundations

Part of Assessing England's productivity software market by the job, not the category

Subscription, managed or self-hosted productivity software over one worked year

Compare subscription, managed and self-hosted productivity software models on cost units, responsibility, implementation, security and exit terms.

The familiar choice between a subscription and a one-off licence hides most of the commercial risk. Buyers in England should compare the whole service boundary: who operates the software, who configures it, how charges change, and what happens at the end. This piece compares subscription, managed and self-hosted productivity software over one worked year.

The comparison was checked on 5 September 2026. No product, supplier performance, price or support response was tested. Models are compared in consistent units: payment basis, operating responsibility, implementation burden, change control and exit.

Named products illustrate each pattern rather than endorsing a supplier. Prices are published list figures or labelled typical ranges that move with seats and storage.

What to take away

  • A quoted monthly rate is not comparable until implementation, storage and integrations are included, plus support tier, renewal basis and export.
  • Cloud subscription shortens infrastructure setup but does not make governance someone else's problem.
  • Managed implementation can address adoption barriers where staff lack time to clean data or redesign the process.
  • Customer-operated software gives the buyer more responsibility for deployment, access, backups, patching and capacity.
  • Usage-linked charges transfer forecasting work to the customer and need a common workload scenario.

Cloud subscription: Microsoft 365, Google Workspace and Zoho

A cloud subscription charges for a period, a user, a workspace or a usage measure. Microsoft 365 Business Standard lists near £10.60 per user per month excluding VAT on an annual commitment, with 1 TB of OneDrive storage each.

Cloud subscription pricing

Microsoft 365

Price per user/month
£10.60
Storage per user
1 TB
Premium tier
£16.60

Google Workspace

Price per user/month
£10.20
Storage per user
2 TB pooled
Premium tier
Not stated

Zoho Workplace

Price per user/month
£3
Storage per user
Not stated
Premium tier
Not stated

Google Workspace Business Standard sits near £10.20 with 2 TB of pooled storage per user. Zoho Workplace Standard is about £3. Microsoft 365 Business Premium adds device management and threat protection for about £16.60.

The supplier runs the underlying service, while the customer controls its accounts, permissions and business configuration. Setup is faster than a server build, but governance stays with the buyer.

The National Cyber Security Centre's secure SaaS guidance covers authentication, privileged access, data and monitoring, plus incidents and offboarding. Use those headings to allocate work between the two parties.

This model suits a repeatable service with continuing maintenance. It is a weaker fit where a customer cannot accept the hosting arrangement, needs prolonged offline operation, or needs changes that would split the standard product.

Managed implementation with Softcat, Bytes and Version 1

Here the recurring application arrives with discovery, migration, configuration, training or ongoing administration. The customer buys software access and accountable delivery.

UK partners such as Softcat, Bytes and Version 1 sell Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace with deployment, identity work and training. Rackspace Technology and CDW run comparable managed desks. Microsoft's FastTrack gives no-cost deployment guidance on qualifying plans, typically from 150 seats.

UK consultancy day rates typically run £500 to £900, so a 25-user migration of 10 to 25 days lands near £5,000 to £22,500. Ongoing administration is commonly quoted at 10% to 20% of licence spend a year.

Separate the recurring charge from one-time and variable services. Define included records, integrations, training sessions and acceptance steps. Otherwise, a supplier may carry unlimited onboarding work while the buyer expects every historic exception to be recreated.

If personal information is processed for the customer, the ICO's controller and processor contract guidance describes minimum terms for relevant written contracts. The page notes that its material is being reviewed following legislative change, so the parties should obtain current qualified advice for their roles and wording.

Self-hosted software: Nextcloud, ONLYOFFICE and Zulip

A customer-operated model gives the buyer more responsibility for deployment, access, backups, patching and capacity. Payment might be perpetual, term-based or linked to maintenance, but the label alone says nothing about total cost.

Nextcloud Hub is free to download and run, and Nextcloud GmbH sells enterprise subscriptions for support. ONLYOFFICE Docs has a free community edition and a paid enterprise edition. Mattermost and Zulip ship self-hosted editions, with Zulip Cloud Standard near $6.67 per user per month.

Infrastructure for 25 users typically costs £40 to £150 a month on a UK or EU cloud host. Administrator time of 0.1 to 0.2 full-time equivalents adds roughly £4,000 to £8,000 a year at a loaded £40,000 salary.

This route may fit organisations with established infrastructure controls or unusual deployment needs. It can also create version fragmentation if updates are deferred. Ask how security fixes are issued, which versions are supported and what evidence the customer must provide when reporting a fault.

Usage-linked service: Zapier, Make and Power Automate

Charges tied to transactions, automation runs, storage or processing can follow activity more closely than seat counts. Zapier bills by tasks, with Professional from about $30 a month for 750 tasks.

Make sells operations, with Core from about $9 a month for 10,000. Microsoft Power Automate Premium is near £11.70 per user per month.

Usage charges transfer forecasting work to the customer. A fair comparison needs a common workload scenario and an explanation of what happens at limits, during spikes and after failed operations.

The government's Software Security Code of Practice applies to organisations developing or selling business software and distinguishes developers, distributors and resellers. Its 14 voluntary principles offer a useful responsibility checklist, but compliance is not a government certification.

Compare a worked operating year

Fix one scenario: 25 users, 1 TB of active data and four integrations. Add 20 days of onboarding, 30 support hours and one exit exercise.

Worked 25-user year costs

Cloud subscription

Licence or software
£900–£3,180
Implementation
Included
Ongoing admin
Included
Infrastructure
Included
Automation
£280

Managed delivery

Licence or software
Adds services
Implementation
£5,000–£22,500
Ongoing admin
£320–£640
Infrastructure
Included
Automation
£280

Self-hosted

Licence or software
£0 community
Implementation
Included
Ongoing admin
£4,000–£8,000
Infrastructure
£500–£1,800
Automation
£280

Microsoft 365 Business Standard then costs about £3,180 a year excluding VAT for 25 users. Google Workspace Business Standard is about £3,060, and Zoho Workplace Standard about £900.

Managed delivery adds £5,000 to £22,500 of implementation work and £320 to £640 a year of administration on that licence. Self-hosted Nextcloud carries no licence fee for the community edition, £500 to £1,800 of infrastructure and £4,000 to £8,000 of administrator time.

Usage-linked automation at 750 tasks a month is about £280 a year, and overage is billed per task. Cloud storage and egress charges from AWS or Azure belong in the same table.

Record service availability, update control, incident communication, export format and deletion evidence for each model. Sensitivity-test growth and contraction rather than selecting one favourable month.

The best model matches delivery economics and gives the customer a comprehensible responsibility boundary. Commercial, security and data-protection review are required before publishing conclusions about a specific contract.

Before you act

  • Compare the complete service boundary, not just the licence model.
  • Allocate work using the NCSC secure SaaS guidance headings.
  • Separate recurring charges from one-time and variable services.
  • Check controller and processor contract terms for personal data.
  • Price the same 25-user, 1 TB, four-integration year across every model.
  • Record availability, update control, incident communication, export and deletion evidence.

Common questions

What should buyers compare beyond the subscription versus one-off licence choice?

Compare the whole service boundary: who operates the software, who configures it, how charges change, and what happens at the end. A quoted monthly rate is not comparable until implementation, storage and integrations are included, along with support tier, renewal basis and export.

When is a cloud subscription a weaker fit?

It is a weaker fit where a customer cannot accept the hosting arrangement, needs prolonged offline operation, or needs changes that would split the standard product. Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace suit repeatable services, but governance stays with the customer.

How should a buyer compare a worked operating year across models?

Price the same user count, data volume, integrations and onboarding work for each model. Add the same support hours and one exit exercise. Then record availability, update control, incident communication, export format and deletion evidence.

More in Foundations